Open today until

Crowns and permanent bridges

Crowns and bridges are permanent tooth restorations

Crowns are a great solution for treating teeth that are badly damaged, have undergone several restorations or are too fragile to be repaired. They are permanent restorations that cover the entire surface of a tooth, much like a hat. Crowns make teeth stronger and more stable. While they can be used on teeth with living tissue, we sometimes need to devitalize the tooth before installing a crown.

Since crowns are made of zirconia or white ceramic, they are both strong and attractive restorations. Installing a crown is usually a two-step process performed in two appointments. First, a thin layer is removed from the outside of the tooth and an impression is taken and sent to the lab where the custom crown will be made. The crown is permanently installed during the second appointment.

The shape and colour will match adjoining teeth perfectly, and the tooth will regain its full function.

Permanent bridges are used to replace one or several missing teeth. They are supported by the teeth on either side. The replaced tooth or teeth are suspended (like a bridge) between your natural teeth, which act as support pillars. Permanent bridges cannot be removed. They look very good.

The procedure:

  • A thin layer is removed from the outside of the teeth that will act as support pillars.
  • An impression is made of the whole area then sent to the lab, where the permanent bridge is precision-made.
  • A temporary bridge is installed while you wait for the permanent bridge to be made.
  • Once it’s ready, the permanent bridge is installed and cemented into place.

The entire procedure is typically carried out in two appointments. There are many advantages to permanent bridges. They are functional restorations that are comfortable and attractive.

Ouvert aujourd'hui jusqu'à 20h00

Couronne et pont fixe

Quand une dent est très abimée, a subi plusieurs restaurations, ou est trop fragilisée pour être réparée, l’installation d’une couronne devient la solution idéale. Cette restauration fixe recouvre entièrement la dent, comme un petit chapeau, et lui redonne toute sa force et sa stabilité. La couronne peut se faire sur une dent vivante. Il serait nécessaire dans certain cas de dévitaliser la dent avant de faire une couronne.

Faite de zircon ou de céramique blanche, la couronne offre un parfait équilibre entre solidité et esthétisme. Son installation se fait généralement en deux visites. La dent est en premier lieu préparée en lui retirant une mince couche. Une empreinte est prise et envoyée en laboratoire afin de confectionner la couronne sur mesure. Lors du rendez-vous suivant, elle est fixée en place de façon permanente.

En plus de s’agencer parfaitement aux dents voisines par sa couleur et sa forme, votre dent est à nouveau totalement fonctionnelle.

Le pont fixe permet de remplacer une ou plusieurs dents manquantes en se servant des dents voisines comme soutien. La ou les dents de remplacement sont suspendues comme sur une passerelle entre les deux dents qui servent de piliers. Fermement fixée en place, cette prothèse est permanente et ne peut être retirée. Les résultats esthétiques sont très bons.

La procédure :

  • Une mince couche est retirée sur les dents qui serviront de piliers.
  • Une empreinte de toute la zone affectée est prise puis envoyée au laboratoire dentaire afin de fabriquer avec précision le pont permanent.
  • Un pont temporaire est mis en place dans l’attente de la prothèse définitive.
  • Lorsqu’il est prêt, le pont permanent peut être installé et cimenté en place définitivement

L’intervention complète est habituellement réalisée en 2 visites. Le pont fixe est une prothèse qui offre plusieurs avantages. Elle constitue une restauration fonctionnelle, esthétique et confortable.